Contests make people excited!

As most of you know The Beat 94.5 is one of the hottest radio stations in B.C.. Their target audience ranges any where from 12-40 years of age because of the number of different shows they play. The radio station’s music is focused on new hit music (mostly that of pop/hip hop) and an old school lunch that plays the old hits.

But today what I’m more specifically focused on is their contests. I know that its a very broad topic, but what I’m wondering is if having a number of contests (with big prizes) strives consumers to listen and like The Beat more?

My first answer towards this question, was answered immediatley when I saw an image that says “Like us for more exclusive content” – this included insider information for contests. The beat as we speak is up to almost 4,000 friends on Facebook and almost 8,000 on Twitter (I’d say having contest’s is somewhat working for them!)

I also have to use my personal experience to answer this question. Not only did I start listening  more intently when “Beat your bills” or “10,000$ thursday’s” started, I noticed people at my work talked about it more and more. It started having the water cooler effect!

I personally think The Beat has done a great job attracting their listeners to the site because the contests have been promoted so well over the radio and the stakes are high. Another way I think they could add to their popularity is adding videos of the winners on their facebook pages. I think it would get more people talking and excited (especially since they’re usually really funny!)

Lauren

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Contests make people excited!

  1. Jamie says:

    Good idea about adding the videos of the winners to their facebook page. People love to see themselves win and if they were funny I agree it would drive more people to the site. Wonder why they didn’t think of that! 🙂

  2. laalaasworld says:

    Hi Lauren!

    As much as I despise The Beat 94.5 (I’m sorry and no offense to you and other listeners) I must hand it to the Marketing Team over there for their relentless promotions for the station. 4,000 Facebook fans and 8,000 twitter followers! WOW, IMPRESSIVE. In contrast, it is quite interesting however to think WHY only 4,00o on Facebook? One would think they would have a larger following on Facebook as opposed to twitter? Facebook is currently the post popular social media site, so it is quite interesting to see that they have TWICE as many followers on their twitter account. 🙂 Great Post Lauren

    – Lindsey

Leave a comment